Technology and kids’ brains

This New York Times story takes an in-depth look at the problems caused when kids are constantly wired to technological entertainment and communications. For me, the most pressing issue addressed in the article is embodied in this excerpt:

“Their brains are rewarded not for staying on task but for jumping to the next thing,” said Michael Rich, an associate professor at Harvard Medical School and executive director of the Center on Media and Child Health in Boston. And the effects could linger: “The worry is we’re raising a generation of kids in front of screens whose brains are going to be wired differently.”

I now feel vindicated for not owning a cell phone, not providing them to my kids, severely limiting my kids’ time on Facebook and video games, and not having cable or satellite TV. To be more precise, I’m grateful to my wife for insisting on all the above measures.

About Jamal Kheiry

Public relations consultant with experience in domestic and international journalism and public relations. At it since 1995.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.